Enable Delete Confirmation Dialog In Windows 10

It seems after installing Windows 10, when you delete a file, you are no longer asked to confirm whether or not you want to delete your selection. It just goes to the Recycle Bin.

I could see where some would enjoy that feature but many of us prefer to have that little dialog box pop up in the event we accidentally fat-finger something.

To bring back the delete confirmation dialog box, just follow these simple steps:

Find your Recycle Bin and do a right mouse-click on it to bring up the options menu. Then, go down to the bottom and select Properties.


When the Recycle Bin Properties dialog opens up, go down to the bottom and place a check mark next to “Display delete confirmation dialog.”


Then, click on Apply and Ok. That’s it.

Posted in Windows SysAdmin, Windows Workstation and tagged , , , , , , , .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *